Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
04 NBSCC Silverado
1,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I have a GI bill from the military that needs to get used! 36K or more. I really want to go to an automotive tech, programming, or similar school. I have always been fascinated with motors and have learned just about everything I know( which isn't much!) From podunk mechanic jobs in high school and on my own. I consider myself very mechanically inclined but I have never gone to any formal school. Where did you all go and what are your certifications? How do you like it? Any good recommended schools? Can someone point me in the right direction! I am a firefighter so I work 24s and I think it would be awesome to have a side business tunning or wrenching! Thanks for any help.........I wanna learn more!

·
Premium Member
08 Black Granite
4,004 Posts
Formal automotive tech? I'd go UTI (universal technical institute) hands down. I know a few grads that attended and from what I've seen/heard great circiulum. A few campuses to chose from as well.

·
Registered
TrailblazerSS
474 Posts
Ever think of going into aeronautical mechanics? Thats what i went to school for at PIA, but there are a few other schools out there that offer classes to get an A&P license I am only 23 so i have only been doing this for alil over 3 years now. I used to build/work on Skirosky blackhawks and seahawks, but left there to work with my current employer, Lockheed Martin to where i have worked on parts from a F-16 to F-35 and am currently build sheetmetal parts for the C-130. I also have worked on commuter planes and some puddle jumpers.

·
Registered
2007 TrailblazerSS
432 Posts