Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
TrailblazerSS
1,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, today my son was borrowing my truck and was driving to where I work and had only been driving for about 5 minutes. He had to pull over on the hiway bcuz he smelled burning and saw some smoke. He looked under truck and saw it was covered with trans fluid. So we got it towed to my work where I jacked it up and discovered it was coming out of the bellhousing. Truck still has quite a bit of fluid showing on dipstick, so it hadn't been happening too long, but comes out pretty good if started and shut off quickly. Truck still moves when put into gear and no weird noises. I am not a tranny expert by any means?? I'm thinking front seal or converter split??? What do you guys think??? Truck has 105k on it and a 3200 phoenix stall that has been in truck for a little over a year now... Thanks for any input..

·
Premium Member
TrailblazerSS
3,505 Posts
Maybe the pump/shaft seal, pump housing cracked, or TC. Either way the trans has to come out. GL. Let us know what you find.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

·
Mattmikemark
2006 Trailblazer SS
5,366 Posts
What James said. Same thing happened to me, pulled the trans and there was a hairline crack in the weld on the nose of the converter.

Gotta pull the trans and go from there...

·
Premium Member
TrailblazerSS
1,957 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks for the input guys, gonna tear it down this weekend and hope for the best..

·
TT AWD TBSS Jeep
TT AWD SS Pwrd Jeep
5,825 Posts
Its most likey oring seal where converter foes in or the teflon inner seal go nicked which cill force flui out even with a good seal (per the tranny shop I go to) Mine was the teflon seal. Either way trans has to come out.

·
Registered
2006 Chevy TBSS
50 Posts