Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
'07 3SS AWD
1,841 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a total novice w/ car audio, so I'm wondering how much dough to gauge for a setup with something like:
- (1) 12" sub (Was thinking Kicker [my buddy has Kicker stuff])
- Amp of good quality (just enough to power the sub)

And do you guys think it would be wise to replace speakers? My brother has 2 12s in his Jeep that really kick hard, and he replaced his speakers to speakers with more treble, to make it so the bass didn't drone out all the treble from the speakers.

·
Registered
2006 White 2WD LT
274 Posts
Bout 600 bucks roughly. My factory speakers are fine for now.

·
Premium Member
1,116 Posts
I bought a 10'' Kicker L7 and an MTX amp used off the board for 400 bucks. Little bugger thumps!

·
Premium Member
'07 3SS AWD
1,841 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I bought a 10'' Kicker L7 and an MTX amp used off the board for 400 bucks. Little bugger thumps!
My brother tells me that when going from 12" to 10", it's not only a difference in output, but also in the way it thumps... how true is this? He's been known to make up these myths, lol

·
Premium Member
1,116 Posts
It all depends on sub/enclosure/amp/design of the car

I had 2 JL 12W3s with a 500/1 amp in my 2000 Z28. The well box of that car bounced the sound waves off the back window, it was ungodly loud.

·
Premium Member
'07 3SS AWD
1,841 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It all depends on sub/enclosure/amp/design of the car

I had 2 JL 12W3s with a 500/1 amp in my 2000 Z28. The well box of that car bounced the sound waves off the back window, it was ungodly loud.
So with that being said, what sort of setup would you recommend for the SS?

·
Premium Member
1,116 Posts
your setup depends on what your goals are. I didnt want to give up that much cargo space so i went with 1 10'' Kicker L7 because I got a good deal on it.