Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know I don't have a SS, but I do have the 5.3 in my Rainier, so I hope you all don't have a problem with me asking this:

My Rainier's 5.3 L (with 180k miles) started to make a loud rattling noise from the engine area and it is in sync with the engine RPM's, not the wheels turning.

I checked the oil level and it was within the hash marks on the oil dipstick, so I made an appointment to have it diagnosed at the dealer.

I'm no expert, but I swear the noise sounded like it was low on oil, so even though the oil was NOT low, I OVERFILLED it with about 3/4 of a quart ...and the noise quieted, like 85%! So I canceled the dealer diagnosis so I could do some research, but my searches aren't finding my circumstances.

So what could this be? Any input is appreciated! Thanks!
-Tony

·
Premium Member
Sold
5,623 Posts
I know I don't have a SS, but I do have the 5.3 in my Rainier, so I hope you all don't have a problem with me asking this:

My Rainier's 5.3 L (with 180k miles) started to make a loud rattling noise from the engine area and it is in sync with the engine RPM's, not the wheels turning.

I checked the oil level and it was within the hash marks on the oil dipstick, so I made an appointment to have it diagnosed at the dealer.

I'm no expert, but I swear the noise sounded like it was low on oil, so even though the oil was NOT low, I OVERFILLED it with about 3/4 of a quart ...and the noise quieted, like 85%! So I canceled the dealer diagnosis so I could do some research, but my searches aren't finding my circumstances.

So what could this be? Any input is appreciated! Thanks!
-Tony
Sounds like the common piston slap issue with that many miles.
What weight oil and how long since you changed it?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
o ring on pickup tube in oil pan