Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
TrailblazerSS
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I haven't looked through all of the threads so please point to a link if this question has already been answered.
Our TBSS has never been used for towing and I have no experience towing with one of these SUVs. What do I need to do to set it up to tow a medium sized 4 axle U-haul trailer? This will be fairly light weight with the total load including trailer expected to not exceed 4000 pounds. My SS has the receiver but no hitch. I found the pigtail for the trailer lights tucked up under the bumper. The owners manual states that one of the wires is for trailer brakes but there is no bias device mounted inside the cabin. I've looked at adjustable ball hitches so I can get the tongue weight and ride height correct (SS is lowered 1"). I also don't see anything concerning a transmission converter lock-out button for towing, do you tow in drive? So what else do I need to do to safely set this thing up to tow a light trailer?
Thank you!

Automotive parking light Car Tire Vehicle Automotive tail & brake light

·
Registered
TrailblazerSS
206 Posts
On my 2006 SS I added a Brake Control box under the dash. I don't know where the plug wire goes so I tapped into it and ran a wire up to my control box.

·
Registered
TrailblazerSS
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The TBSS does not have a trans cooler OE? That would be ridiculous for a vehicle with a towing package. Nothing would surprise me though when it comes to GM. Will look into brake bias boxes as well.

·
Registered
324 Posts
The TBSS does not have a trans cooler OE? That would be ridiculous for a vehicle with a towing package. Nothing would surprise me though when it comes to GM. Will look into brake bias boxes as well.
Negative and the trans is under-specced for the power and weight of the tbss

·
Registered
TrailblazerSS
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·