Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,

Let me preface... I am a new to car repairs and upgrades.

As noted in the title I have been gifted a 07 Trailblazer SS RWD. I previously owned it but sold to a family member due to my previous company requiring we drive a fleet car. They took very good care of it driving daily for the last 4 years. Currently, it has 170k miles with expected wear on the exterior and interior. The engine was diagnosed with a thrown rod or main bearing and it will not turn at this point.

I have zero experience working on cars, have expendable cash to invest in the build, and not entirely sure what to do next. I do not need it for a daily driver but it would be nice to get rid of a car payment and drive the TBSS daily. Drag racing and or street racing is very appealing. My ideal scenario would be a TBSS with a sub 4 second 60 and 10s in the quarter mile with the driving feel of a BMW X5 M. This would a life long vehicle with plenty of time to build.

I have added some questions below. Thank you for any insights.

Questions...

DIY or Local Shop - I have no real tools for car repairs and no experience. Time and money are not a concern but how wise is buying the tools and equipment needed for a 2007 project car? Is the joy of building the car yourself overrated and or out of reach for a layman?​
Is it possible to build a 700hp engine that is quiet enough to drop off the kids at school without making a scene? Dream scenario is a simple button changing the exhaust note.​
How difficult is it to add a manual transmission? Is it worth it?​
Is it better to buy a new engine or repair the current one?​
If you were in this scenario what would you do with a $7,000 intitial investment and another $10,000 or more over the next two or three years?​

·
Registered
'07 3SS 2WD
230 Posts
If the car was free, and you have the money to build it correctly, go for it.