Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
TrailblazerSS
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was perhaps a bit mislead with the information GM provided to me. I had my engine replaced by GM under warranty around May or June and was informed it was a new short block. Well with my latest discovery last night got me believing otherwise.
I removed the cam last night and noticed traces of copper/brass on the cam housing. After doing some research, making a few phone calls the outcome was split outcome between its normal and not normal to see what I notice.. The block has +/- 10K.

I guess I'm just looking for more opinions on this matter should I just pretend I didn't notice it and assume its normal? or I don't know what to do..

Thanks
-Moe

·
Premium Member
TrailblazerSS
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
on the ring where the cam sits on the block.. I'm sorry but seriously this is my first time don't know too many technical terms.

·
Premium Member
2006 Red Jewel AWD
11,641 Posts
You are referring to the cam bearing, you are saying you see shavings of copper/brass or you just see copper/brass coloring in the cam bearing??

·
Premium Member
TrailblazerSS
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Copper/Brass coloring in the cam bearing and around the cam.

See for exmple where the cam slides in and rests on that ring right there is where the brass/copper coloring was found not excessive however, enough to see but was only visiable on the left side.

·
Premium Member
2006 Red Jewel AWD
11,641 Posts
The "Ring" you are talking about is your cam bearing...everything is normal and your cam bearings are fine as long as there are no gouges and scrapes and scuffs in the bearing material...

·
Premium Member
TrailblazerSS
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
No just "normal" wear not scuffed or damaged.
So What you're tell me is this is normal to see? not to worry complete assembly and carry on....

·
Premium Member
2006 Red Jewel AWD
11,641 Posts