Chevy Trailblazer SS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
Trailblazer SS
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After much research, I've decided that an 4L80E swap is the best choice for me.
I found a guy selling a low mileage (41k from a 05 GMC Savannah van) 4l80e with torque converter and am planning on picking it up tomorrow. I've read a bunch of threads trying to educate myself and I think I have a pretty good idea of what I'm getting myself into...

Some things I'm still unsure of though. Ill try to keep it simple and thank you in advance for any input you may have.
BTW,I am a total noob when it comes to automatic transmissions.

1) Does the speedometer still work WOT from a stop even with a stock converter? Unlike higher stall converters?

2) Can HP tuners or EFI Live replace the need for the TCM that is listed on the "parts list thread" by JD_SS?

3) Use the 4L80 converter, 4L70 flexplate, and transfer the front cover off my 4L70 onto the 80, right?

4)Will the stall speed change using the stock 4L80 converter designed for a heavier(?) 3/4 ton van when used in my TBSS?

5) Since all the line pressures in the 4L80E are TCM controlled, Is there any reason to install a shift kit since the TCM is effectively doing the same thing, just electronically?

Ultimate goal (several years down the road most likely) is around 500 @ the wheels with a Maggie and a transmission that I don't have to worry about. I want to replace my transmission once and once only. I drive it daily and tow with it several times a year. Should I have it beefed up anyways?

I'm pretty stoked about finally addressing the transmission issues these trucks have. I rarely ever get on it because of this reason and it sucks I cant enjoy the 2nd half of my gas pedal for fear of blowing up my tranny...
I'm hoping with careful planning, some parts trading, and stumbling upon some good deals, I may be able to complete the swap for under $2000.:yay2:

·
Premium Member
Trailblazer SS
1,036 Posts